Dear Clark, You’re One!

My Darling Clark,
Today you turned one year old. This whole day seemed so surreal. The memories of carrying you inside me, and welcoming you into this world are still so fresh in my mind, that I can hardly believe it’s been a year since I first heard your little cry or looked into your big beautiful blue eyes.

Watching you grow into your own personality over the last 12 months has been a gift. I am amazed every day with how strong, happy, and bright you are. You have such an incredible sense of wonder and curiosity, and it’s so fun to watch when you discover something new.
You can throw out some of the silliest facial expressions I have ever witnessed.

From day one, you have kept us on our toes. I’ve never known you to be content sitting still. I love that about you. I love that you have such a strong desire in you to move and explore and learn. Even on days when I am completely exhausted, I can’t help but sit back and wonder what mountains you will move someday.

You are such a light, Clark. You have already touched and brightened so many lives with your beautiful spirit. Never, ever, let your light diminish. Your kindness, warmth, and enthusiasm for life are already so evident in your demeanor. My biggest desire in life is that you never question your worth. You are so deeply loved and cherished by literally everyone around you, and I can’t even begin to explain to you how dearly your Heavenly Father loves and cares for you. I have witnessed little bits of His love for you, and it is truly humbling.

I am proud to be your mother, Clark Nathan Custance. I love you with everything that I am!

Wishing you the happiest of birthdays,

Mom

Leave a Reply

