Ringing in the New Year

It’s officially 2017. Can you believe that? Two Zero One Seven. Holy Crap. This past year has been pretty bittersweet. It’s been filled with precious, beautiful moments that I want to cling on to forever – and of course, as life goes, there have been stressful, hard days which I’m happy to have moved past.

2016 was a strange kind of transitional year for me in many ways. Certainly there was this wonderful transition into motherhood, which has been rewarding to say the least (but not without it’s challenges), however, I have had this sense all year long that this year was meant to be a learning curve. I know Nathan and I have both faced challenges we felt completely overwhelmed by, and yet, there was always this incredible peace and assurance that Heavenly Father had things under control and nothing we faced was too great or beyond our abilities. I definitely had moments of doubt and frustration, but no matter how impossible things seemed, there was always this soft voice in the back of my mind reminding me things will always work out as we put our trust in the Lord.

For the coming year, there have been a few words that come to my mind as things to focus on. Among them, Growth. Love. Sincerity. Joy. And today, after hearing a simple, yet profound message from a wonderful Relief Society President, Hope.
I’ve decided that Hope is going to be my theme of 2017. As I’ve been pondering and studying that word today, I’ve come across a passage in Ether 12, where the prophet Moroni taught, “Whoso believeth in God might with surety hope for a better world, yea, even a place at the right hand of God, which hope cometh of faith, maketh an anchor to the souls of men, which would make them sure and steadfast, always abounding in good works, being led to glorify God” (Ether 12:4).

Between reading that verse, and listening to the Relief Society President deliver her heartfelt message, I felt a piece of my soul come alive. I don’t know any other way to describe it than that.

After counseling together, Nathan and I decided on making Hope our new year resolution. In every aspect – studying, seeking, applying. Here’s to a 2017 filled with new memories, new adventures, happiness, and lots and lots of hope.

-Kelly

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

